Committee on Women in Engineering (WIE)

Women in Engineering (WIE) is a Standing Committee of the World Federation of Engineering Organizations with the purpose of Empowering Women in Engineering and Technology.

Engineering Workforce Diversity

Leadership and Empowerment

Engineering Strategic Indicators

Membership and Organization

The Committee is being hosted by the Nigerian Society of Engineers and chaired by Engr Valerie Agberagba FNSE, A Past President of the Association of Professional Women Engineers of Nigeria and a three times Vice President of the Nigerian Society of Engineers. She is presently the Chair of Women in Engineering Committee of the Federation of African Engineering Organization.

The Secretariat is within the Nigerian Society of Engineer’s building and is manned by an administrator who will work with Stacey DelVecchio, the Secretary.

There are two categories of members, Organizational members and Country representative who are nominated by their organizations or countries. However, non-CWIE STRATEGIC PLAN 4 nominated members present at the WFEO events are allowed to participate in the meetings.


Stacey M. DelVecchio

Theme Leads

Vice-Chair Theme
Stacey M. DelVecchio Engineering Workforce Diversity
Yvette Ramos Leadership and Empowerment
Ania Lopez Engineering Strategic Indicators

Voting Members

Member Organization
Fadwa Abu Ghaida Federation of Arab Engineers
Valérie Agberagba Nigerian Society of Engineers
Bashayer Al-Awwad Kuwait Society of Engineers
Maryam Al-Thani Society of Engineers- UAE
Mohammed Ben Hafoune Morocco Society of Engineers
Dawn Bonfield Institution of Civil Engineers, UK
Man Chit Jovian Cheung Hong Kong Institution of Engineers – HKIE (China)
Maria Teresa Dalenz Union Panamericana De Asociaciones De Ingenieros
Stacey DelVecchio American Association of Engineering Societies
Reine Essobmadje Institution of Engineers, Cameroon
Belen Garcia de Pablos Institute for Engineering, Spain
Milène Guermont Ingénieurs et Scientifiques de France – IESF
Wen-Jean Hsueh Chinese Institute of Engineers, Chinese Taipei
Wai Yie Leong Institution of Engineers Malaysia
Ruomei Li China Society for Electrical Engineering
Ania Lopez Consiglio Nazionale degli Ingegneri, Italy
Farai Mavhiya Zimbabwe Institution of Engineers
Samer Mekhemar Egyptian Engineers’ Syndicate
Gertrude (Trudy) Morgan Sierra Leone Institution of Engineers
(Sierra Leone Women Engineers)
Rita Moura Fortes Federação Brasileira De Associações De Engenheiros – FEBRAE
Yvette Ramos-Aivazian Swiss Engineering
Salma Sadeddin Palestine Society of Engineers
Azhar H. Salih Iraqi Engineers Union
Rita Sarfoh Ghana Institution of Engineers
Junghee Song Korea Institute of Civil Engineering (KICT)
Jeanette Southwood Engineers Canada
Emily Tan Institution of Engineers, Singapore
Hema Vallabh WomEng/Engineering Council of South Africa
Martin Van Veelen WIE mentor
Micheline Wahbe Federation of Lebanese Engineers
Sangeeta Wij Consulting Engineers Association, India
kayoko Yamamoto Science Council of Japan
Issie Yvonne Gueye African Women Engineers
Lidia Zakowska Institution of Engineers of Poland STKRP

Non-Voting Members

Member Organization
Hanadi Al Hai Kuwait Women Engineers
Hessa Al Harmi Society of Engineers – UAE
Alice Cunha da Silva Federação Brasileira De Associações De Engenheiros – FEBRAE
Alfonso Gonzalez World Council of Civil Engineers
Nancy Grossman American Association of Engineering Societies
Sadique Hauwa Nigerian Society of Engineers
Karen Horting American Association of Engineering Societies
Man-Yee Mandy Leung Hong Kong Institution of Engineers – HKIE (China)
Mercy Manyuchi Zimbabwe Institution of Engineers
Iracema Moraes Federação Brasileira De Associações De Engenheiros – FEBRAE
Beverly Nyakutsikwa Zimbabwe Institution of Engineers
Bedour Shehab Kuwait Society of Engineers
Ini Usoro Nigerian Society of Engineers

World Federation of Engineering Organizations /
Fédération Mondiale des Organisations d'Ingénieurs

Maison de l'Unesco

1, rue Miollis 75015 Paris, France
Disclaimer | Contact Us

© 2008 - 2018 WFEO/FMOI. All rights reserved